Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

International Bluegrass Music Association

Gibson Brothers Capture 23rd IBMA Entertainers of the Year Bluegrass Award

The Gibson BrothersThe 23rd International Bluegrass Music Award were held the evening of Thursday, September 27th. The Gibson Brothers took home the honors of the coveted Entertainer of the Year. The night was webcast on LiveStream via the International Bluegrass Music Association's (IBMA) Bluegrass Nation website./a

Special Performances Abound at 2012 World of Bluegrass Week

IBMA LogoNashville, TN -- The International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA)’s World of Bluegrass Week, Sept. 24-30, will get off to a festive start this Sunday when “The Travelin’ McCourys and Friends” host their free show at Cumberland Park after the Tennessee Titans game.

AirPlay Direct Executive Team at the IBMA World of Bluegrass

AirPlay DirectAirPlay Direct will have a very strong presence this year at the IBMA's World of Bluegrass Conference 2012 in Nashville, TN. AirPlay Direct will be Co-Sponsoring the DJ & Artists Networking Reception at the Nashville Conference Center on Tuesday, September 25th from 1:45 - 3:45 pm CST.

Curly Seckler Celebrates 77 Years in Bluegrass Music at World of Bluegrass

Curly SecklerBluegrass legend Curly Seckler is scheduled to participate in an Earl Scruggs Storytelling Session during the IBMA World of Bluegrass event in Nashville later this month. The session will take place on Tuesday, September 25, from 8:00 - 9:30 AM in the 3rd Floor Lounge in the Nashville Convention Center. Others scheduled to take part include Haskel McCormick, Gerald McCormick, and Kent Blanton (and probably a surprise guest or two).

Initial Performers, Presenters Announced for International Bluegrass Music Awards

Laurie Lewis & Del McCouryNashville, TN -- An initial list of performers and presenters for IBMA’s 23rd International Bluegrass Music Awards has been confirmed for the event, which kicks off at 7:30 PM CST on Thursday, September 27. The Awards Show, held at Nashville’s historic Ryman Auditorium, will feature performances and award presentations from some of the genre’s brightest stars, including Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out, The Gibson Brothers and Steve Martin & the Steep Canyon Rangers.

IBMA Announces Nancy Cardwell as New Executive Director

Nancy CardwellNashville, TN -- /IBMA/ The Board of Directors of the International Bluegrass Music Association is pleased to announce that it has appointed Nancy Cardwell as the organization’s Executive Director. “After an extensive selection process that began with more than 65 applications for the position, the Board concluded that Nancy brings the right mix of skills to the table and will be able to take the organization to the next level of success,” said Board chair Stan Zdonik.

Artists and Labels Celebrating IBMA Award Nominations

IBMA Awards LogoIt's that time of year again when everybody is getting excited about the International Bluegrass Music Awards. The nominees were announced and now, the counts, cataloging and guessing begins. Each year, those who receive nominations give their thanks, honk their horns and start getting ready for the final countdown and the awards program which takes place during the International Bluegrass Music Association's World of Bluegrass trade show and gathering. align=

Russell Moore and IIIrd Tyme Out Lead International Bluegrass Award Nominations

Russell Moore and IIIrd Tyme OutNashville, TN -- /IBMA/ Nominees for the 2012 International Bluegrass Music Awards were announced today at a press conference at Nashville’s Loveless Barn, and perennial favorites Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out led the pack with nominations in nine categories as a band and for individual members. They’re followed by Alison Krauss & Union Station with eight nominations, and Blue Highway and The Boxcars with seven nominations each. (The list of nominations appears at the end of this article.)

Doyle Lawson and Ralph Rinzler 2012 Bluegrass Hll of Fame Inductees (Updated)

Doyle Lawson and Ralph Rinzler/IBMA/ Nashville, TN -- The International Bluegrass Music Association has announced that bandleader/singer/songwriter Doyle Lawson and late folklorist Ralph Rinzler will be inducted into the International Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame at its Awards Show at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium on Thursday, September 27, 2012.

IBMA 2012 Distinguished Achievement Awards Announced

Byron BerlineNashville, TN -- Recipients of the International Bluegrass Music Association’s 2012 Distinguished Achievement Awards have been announced, and this year’s group includes a “Pee Wee,” a fiddler, a “Queen,” a pair of Cornetts, and a man with a golden voice.

IBMA Contest Offers Members Mountain Song at Sea Cruise

Mountain Song At SeaNashville, TN -- In an exciting new membership drive, all active members of the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) as of September 27, 2012 will receive a chance to win an oceanview cabin for two on Mountain Song at Sea’s Bluegrass Cruise. An entire ship has been chartered for the festival, which boasts a fantastically diverse lineup: The David Grisman Sextet, Del McCoury Band, Punch Brothers, Steep Canyon Rangers, Tim O'Brien and Bryan Sutton, Kruger Brothers, Peter Rowan, Larry Keel & Natural Bridge, Travelin' McCourys, Shannon Whitworth, Della Mae and Town Mountain.

Laurie Lewis & Del McCoury to Host 23rd International Bluegrass Music Awards

Laurie Lewis & Del McCouryNashville, TN -- A powerful and delightfully unusual pairing of bluegrass superstars -- Laurie Lewis and Del McCoury -- will host the 23rd Annual International Bluegrass Music Awards this year, on Thursday, September 27, 2012 at 7:30 p.m. at Nashville’s historic Ryman Auditorium. Nominations for the International Bluegrass Music Awards will be announced at a special press conference scheduled for Wednesday evening, August 15, at The Loveless Barn in Nashville.

IBMA Announces “Momentum Award” Recognizing Emerging Artistic and Industry Talent

Momentum AwardThe International Bluegrass Music Association is proud to announce a new annual slate of awards designed to recognize promising new talent in bluegrass music. The IBMA Momentum Awards will be presented to an inaugural group of recipients at World of Bluegrass 2012 in Nashville, September 24-30.

IBMA Lists Eligible Album and Artist Criteria for 2012 Award Voting

IBMA LogoEach year, the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) prepares for their annual Awards Show. The award voting is by the professional membership of the IBMA and consists of three rounds of votes. The initial phase is listing what artists and albums are eligible for consideration for an award. Once that happens, the flood gates open. The first round is really an open ballot. Any eligible album, song, artist or musician can be written in. The ballots with names already on them comes later.IBMA Logo

It's Official: IBMA Announces World of Bluegrass Moving to Raleigh for 2013-2015

IBMA LogoNashville, TN -- The International Bluegrass Music Association announced its plans today to move its World of Bluegrass events to Raleigh, North Carolina for the next three years, 2013-2015. World of Bluegrass Week includes the four-day IBMA Business Conference, the International Bluegrass Music Awards Show, and the three-day Bluegrass Fan Fest. The annual industry summit/bluegrass family reunion draws over 16,000 fans, artists, and music industry professionals from around the world for the week-long event, with an estimated 8,000-10,000 coming from outside the region. World of Bluegrass provides opportunities for showcasing, professional development and networking at the largest concentrated week of powerful, live bluegrass music on the planet.


Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer