Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Blue Highway to Release 'Sounds of Home' August 23rd

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Sounds of HomeBurlington, MA – Rounder Records is pleased to announce the release of Blue Highway's Sounds Of Home on August 23. The album arrives one long decade after Still Climbing Mountains, the band's first all-original collection. Blue Highway has always been known for their ability to create striking original music that resounds with timeless bluegrass, but Sounds Of Home is especially rich in the variety of directions that it reaches.

On Sounds Of Home, there's an unmistakable confidence that can only come with years of shared music making. Each track features a careful choice of instrumentation and arrangement that benefits the material and meaning. Blue Highway also brings a thoughtful approach to their vocals – delivering trios, solos and duets that display a profound engagement with their repertoire.

Having previously released 9 highly acclaimed albums, the members of Blue Highway – Tim Stafford (guitar, vocals), Wayne Taylor (lead vocals, bass), Shawn Lane (tenor vocals, guitar, mandolin, fiddle), Rob Ickes (Dobro, Scheerhorn acoustic slide guitar), and Jason Burleson (banjo, guitar, mandolin, bass vocals) – are some of the most accomplished and exciting musicians in bluegrass today. Each member is among the most distinguished performers on his instrument of choice, and the band has garnered numerous awards from IBMA and SPBGMA, two Grammy nominations, and a Dove Award. Blue Highway fuses tradition with progress to create their own unique and timeless style, and they sing and play together like the family they are, after 17 years of recording and touring together.

Blue Highway has developed a robust contemporary take on the bluegrass tradition that makes them among the most influential bands in the genre today. Their years together allow them to create an unrivaled ensemble sound -- one that has led them to 2 Grammy nominations, a Dove Award, and multiple IBMA awards. The band has always been notable for the way they stretch beyond the usual bluegrass subjects, but Sounds of Home is especially rich in the variety of directions that it reaches. This album is profound, powerful and purely enjoyable -- the Sounds of Home indeed.

Complete Sounds Of Home Track Listing:

  1. "I Ain't Gonna Lay My Hammer Down"
  2. "Sounds of Home"
  3. "Bluebird Days"
  4. "Restless Working Man"
  5. "Heather and Billy"
  6. "Storm"
  7. "Roaring Creek"
  8. "Only Seventeen"
  9. "If You've Got Something to Say"
  10. "My Heart was Made to Love You"
  11. "Nobody's Fault but Mine"
  12. "Drinking from a Deeper Well"

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer