Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

2016 IBMA Momentum Award Winners Announced

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Lil’ SmokiesNashville, TN -- The International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) has announced the for the 2016 Momentum Awards which were handed out at a luncheon at the World of Bluegrass Business Conference, Wednesday, September 28, at the Raleigh Convention Center in downtown Raleigh, North Carolina. The Momentum Awards focus on artists and industry people who are in the early stages of their bluegrass music careers. Performance awards go to one band, one vocalist and three instrumentalists, while three industry awards go to a Mentor, Industry Achiever and a Festival/Venue/Event.

Nominees and recipients are selected by a multiple committee-driven process. Regional and local associations -- as well as all IBMA members -- are encouraged to identify serious emerging artists and leaders for consideration. With the exception of the Mentor category, anyone previously nominated for an IBMA Award may not be considered for a Momentum Award.

The 2016 Momentum Award Recipients are:

  • Event of the Year:
    • Charm City Folk & Bluegrass Festival
  • Industry Involvement:
    • Brad Kolodner
  • Mentor:
    • Stephen Mougin
  • Band:
    • Lil’ Smokies
  • Instrumentalist (3 are selected):
    • Billy Strings
    • Molly Tuttle
    • Jake Workman
  • Vocalist:
    • Melody Walker

IBMA is the professional trade organization for the global bluegrass music community. The organization’s six-year stay in Raleigh is the result of a partnership with The Greater Raleigh Convention and Visitors Bureau, the Raleigh Convention Center, PineCone (The Piedmont Council of Traditional Music), the City of Raleigh, and a local organizing committee. For more information:

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer