Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

IBMA Announces Special Awards Nominees

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

IBMA AwardsNashville, TN -- The International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) has announced the nominees for their Special Awards, honors that recognize outstanding work in categories including Broadcaster of the Year, Bluegrass Event of the Year, Best Graphic Design for a Recorded Project, Best Liner Notes for a Recorded Project, Print/Media Person of the Year and Bluegrass Songwriter of the Year. The Special Awards will be handed out Thursday, September 29, during a luncheon at the World of Bluegrass Business Conference at the Raleigh Convention Center in downtown Raleigh, NC.

“Announcing the Special Awards nominees is yet another highlight of the year, as our membership recognizes and celebrates annual contributions of excellence by people who are the backbone of the bluegrass community,” said IBMA Executive Director Paul Schiminger. “The artistry and hard work of these nominees is vital to everyone in bluegrass music.”

Nominees are selected by a specially appointed committee made up of bluegrass music professionals who possess significant knowledge of the history of the genre. The recipient of each award is decided on by the Panel of Electors, IBMA members with deep roots in the bluegrass music industry.

The 2016 IBMA Special Awards nominees are:

  • Broadcaster of the Year:
    • Kyle Cantrell
    • Larry Carter
    • Joe Mullins
    • Ronnie Reno
    • Alan Tompkins
  • Event of the Year
    • 44th Annual Delaware Valley Bluegrass Festival (Woodstown, NJ)
    • The 2015-16 Emelin Theatre Bluegrass Concert Series (Mamaroneck, NY)
    • La Roche Bluegrass Festival – Special 10th Edition (La Roche sur Foron, France)
    • Musicians Against Childhood Cancer (Lockbourne, Ohio)
    • New Richmond Bluegrass Festival (Quebec, Canada)
  • Best Liner Notes for Recorded Project
    • Darol Anger and Joe Walsh – Project : “The People Need Light”; Artist: Mr. Sun; Compass Records
    • Ron Block – Project: “Forbes Family Treasures, Volumes 1&2”; Artist: The Forbes Family; Rebel Records
    • Peter Cooper – Project: “The Muscle Shoals Recordings”; Artist: The SteelDrivers; Rounder Records
    • Daniel Mullins – Project: “The Blues Are Still The Blues”; Artist: The Traditional Grass; Rebel Records
    • Larry Nager – Project: “Modern Day Man”; Artist: Josh Williams; Rounder Records
    • Jim Wood – Project: “Home Made Sugar and a Puncheon Floor”; Artist: Howdy Forrester and John Hartford; Spring Fed Records
  • Best Graphic Design for Recorded Project
    • Robert Hakalski – Project: “Traveling Roots”; Artist: Matt Flinner Trio; Compass Records
    • Dave Hummel and Charles R. Humphrey III- Project: “Traveling Show’; Artist: Songs From The Road Band; Lucks Dumpy Toad Records
    • Anthony Ladd – Project: “The Road’s Not Easy”; Artist: Ash Breeze; Travianna Records
    • Scott McCormick – Project: “ Ladies & Gentlemen”; Artist: The Infamous Stringdusters; Compass Records
    • Jennifer Peck – Project: “Nothing But Sky”; Artist: Delta Reign; Travianna Records
  • Bluegrass Print/Media Person of the Year
    • Derek Halsey
    • David Morris
    • Daniel Mullins
    • Penny Parsons
    • Garet K. Woodward
  • Bluegrass Songwriter of the Year
    • Chris Jones
    • Charles Humphrey III
    • Tammy Rogers King
    • Milan Miller
    • Donna Ulisse

Those wishing to attend the World of Bluegrass Business Conference can purchase a pass by logging onto or by calling 1-800-514-3849. First-time conference attendees receive a $50 discount. IBMA Awards Show tickets and hotel reservation info can also be found on the site.

IBMA is the professional trade organization for the global bluegrass music community. The organization’s six-year stay in Raleigh is the result of a partnership with The Greater Raleigh Convention and Visitors Bureau, the Raleigh Convention Center, PineCone (The Piedmont Council of Traditional Music), the City of Raleigh, and a local organizing committee. For more information:

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer