Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Live at Bean Blossom Releasing November 22, 2011

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Live at Bean BlossomRural Rhythm Records is proud to announce the November 22, 2011 album release of Live At Bean Blossom, in celebration of the 100th anniversary of the birth of the Father of Bluegrass, Bill Monroe. The album will no doubt be high on the wish list of not only Monroe fans, but the thousands of visitors that attend the numerous festivals held at the Bill Monroe Music Park in Bean Blossom, Indiana every year.

"Given the influence of Bill Monroe on the musicians in each band, and the depth of their appreciation for him and his art the results of these sessions are truly extraordinary. Even the most familiar of Monroe's well-known compositions comes across in this tribute with palpable freshness and excitement, and the on-stage comments of the musicians and the audible audience response reveal their mutual delight at taking part in this commemoration," wrote Tom Adler who provided the extensive liner notes for the album and is the author of the 2011 publication of Bean Blossom: The Brown County Jamboree and Bill Monroe's Bluegrass Festivals.

Live At Bean Blossom includes performances by: Russell Moore & III Tyme Out; Lonesome River Band; Bobby Osborne & The Rocky Top X-Press; Audie Blaylock & Redline; Lou Reid and Carolina; Blue Moon Rising; Grasstowne; Brand New Strings; Carolina Road; Wasson & McCall (Rickey Wasson and Dwight McCall) featuring J. D. Crowe; Ronnie Reno and The Reno Tradition; and The Bartley Brothers.

Track List:

  1. "Uncle Pen" - Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out
  2. "Can't You Hear Me Calling" - Lou Reid and Carolina
  3. "Southern Flavor" - Brand New Strings
  4. "Were You There" - Grasstowne
  5. "Footprints in the Snow" - Lonesome River Band
  6. "Six Feet Under the Ground – Audie Blaylock & Redline
  7. "Big Mon – The Bartley Brothers
  8. "Body & Soul" - Blue Moon Rising
  9. "Blue Moon of Kentucky" - Bobby Osborne & The Rocky Top X-Press
  10. "This World Is Not My Home - Carolina Road
  11. "Bluegrass Breakdown - Ronnie Reno & The Reno Tradition
  12. "Molly & Tenbrooks - Wasson & McCall (Featuring J. D. Crowe)

The album was produced by Sammy Shelor of the Lonesome River Band with Rural Rhythm Records President, Sam Passamano II serving as Executive Producer. On site production staff included: Tom Feller and Dale Perry (live recording engineers); park's owner, Dwight Dillman (Event Executive); and Sammy Passamano III (Video Producer).

The 45th Annual Bill Monroe Memorial Bluegrass Festival held in June 2011 was sponsored by Dillman Furniture, Martin Guitars, Rural Rhythm Records, and Hope River Entertainment.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer