Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Fiddles a Hummin’ at 1890s Day Jamboree Old Time Fiddle Convention

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Fiddler Maddie DentonRinggold, GA -- Organizers at the 1890s Day Jamboree Old Time Fiddlers Convention welcome over 100 contestants including fiddlers, guitarists, mandolinists, bands, banjo players, and cloggers from states across the south to Ringgold, Ga. May 28, 2016. Instrumentalists struck a chord as dancers twirled into the hearts of audiences as they cheered dozens of musicians on to victory to win nearly $7,000 in prize money sponsored by Walter Jackson Chevrolet stage at the historic Catoosa County Courthouse.

“We marked our eleventh contest this year and the talent excels more with each passing year,” said contest organizer Lewis Taylor. “Our volunteers give endlessly to make this an enjoyable event. Without them, our high caliber judges, and our sponsors, none of this would be possible.”

Taylor is a champion harmonica player winning titles in several states and numerous contests.

Maddie Denton of Murfreesboro, Tenn. won the Randall Franks Trophy at the 1890s Day Jamboree.

Denton also won the 22-50 age category for the chance to compete for the trophy. In the fiddle off, she faced Mark Ralph (third from left) of Somerville, Ala. winner of the 51 and up category, who won second, Andrew Lin (second from left) of Lexington, Ky from 16-21 category, who placed third, and Benjamin Lin (left) of Lexington, Ky, winner of the 11-15 category, who placed fourth.

The top prize is named in honor of Appalachian Ambassador of the Fiddle Randall Franks, “Officer Randy Goode” from TV’s “In the Heat of the Night.” On the heels of a Grand Ole Opry appearance, he cheered the top four competitors on in their bid to win the Randall Franks Trophy and the $500 prize. He presented the winners on the main stage with Taylor.

Once holding the title of Georgia State Bluegrass Champion, the International Bluegrass Music Museum Bluegrass Legend and Independent Country Music Hall of Fame inductee is a former member of Bill Monroe’s Blue Grass Boys, Jim and Jesse’s Virginia Boys and numerous other groups who as a guest star often shared his talents for the Grand Ole Opry. Franks hosts the Grand Master Fiddler Championship at the Country Music Hall of Fame in Nashville each year. For more information, visit

“I had so many people tell me how impressed they were with the talents of the young fiddlers competing,” he said. “We are blessed the 1890s Day Jamboree committee strives to keep the tradition of the fiddle contests a vital part of the American musical fabric.”

Main Stage Revolution won the team dance competition, Main Stage Explosion took second place, Main Stage Fusion won third, all from Springfield, Tenn.

In the bluegrass band competition, A Step Ahead of Greenbrier, Tenn., won first place, Slim Chance took second, and New Grass Express of Chattanooga, Tenn. received third.

Tyler Andal of White House, Tenn. won guitar, banjo and mandolin contests. Rob Pearcy of Smyrna, Tenn. took second in the mandolin and guitar competition and received back up guitarist award. Maddie Denton of Murfreesboro, Tenn. took third in guitar and mandolin.

Landon Fitzpatrick of Chickamauga, Ga. won second in banjo, while Christy Tankersley of Soddy Daisy, Tenn. achieved third place.

The next 1890s Day Jamboree Old Time Fiddlers Convention will be Memorial Day weekend Saturday 2017 in Ringgold, Ga. For more information, visit, or or Like the event on Facebook.

2016 1890s Day Jamboree Old Time Fiddle Convention Winners:

  • Fiddlers:
    • Randall Franks Trophy Fiddle Off:
      1. Maddie Denton – Murfreesboro, Tenn.
      2. Mark Ralph – Somerville, Ala.
      3. Andrew Lin – Lexington, Ky.
      4. Benjamin Lin – Lexington, Ky.
    • Ages 10 and under:
      1. David Lin – Lexington, Ky.
      2. Meredith Hudson – Gordo, Ala.
      3. Macy Shelton – Coker, Ala.
    • Ages 11-15:
      1. Benjamin Lin – Lexington, Ky.
      2. Matthew Lin – Lexington, Ky.
      3. Caleb Bryant – Northport, Ala.
      4. Brayden Chunn – Greenbrier, Tenn.
    • Ages 16-21:
      1. Andrew Lin – Lexington, Ky.
      2. Melody Williamson – Murfreesboro, Tenn.
      3. Madison McCool – Gordo, Ala.
      4. Kate Moss – Gordo, Ala.
    • Ages 22-50:
      1. Maddie Denton – Murfreesboro, Tenn.
      2. Tyler Andal – White House, Tenn.
      3. Gail Johnson – Lavergne, Tenn.
      4. Cheryl Chunn – Greenbrier, Tenn.
    • Ages 51 and up:
      1. Mark Ralph – Somerville, Ala.
      2. Tim ‘T-bone’ Daniels – Lawrenceburg, Tenn.
      3. Marcia Denton – Murfreesboro, Tenn.
      4. Perry Cooper – Knoxville, Tenn.
  • Bluegrass Band:
    1. A Step Ahead – Greenbrier, Tenn.
    2. Slim Chance
    3. New Grass Express – Soddy Daisy, Tenn.
  • Guitarists:
    1. Tyler Andal – White House, Tenn.
    2. Rob Pearcy – Smyrna, Tenn.
    3. Maddie Denton – Murfreesboro, Tenn.
  • Best Backup Guitarist:
    1. Rob Pearcy – Smyrna, Tenn.
  • Mandolinists:
    1. Tyler Andal – White House, Tenn.
    2. Rob Pearcy – Smyrna, Tenn.
    3. Maddie Denton – Murfreesboro, Tenn.
  • Banjoist:
    1. Tyler Andal – White House, Tenn.
    2. Landon Fitzpatrick – Chickamauga, Ga.
    3. Christy Tankersley – Soddy Daisy, Tenn.
  • Cloggers:
    • 10 and under:
      1. Meredith Hudson – Gordo, Ala.
      2. Sarah Brooke Richardson – Rockvale, Tenn.
      3. Caroline Williamson – Murfreesboro, Tenn.
    • Ages 11-20:
      1. Brayden Chunn – Greenbrier, Tenn.
      2. Melody Williamson – Murfreesboro, Tenn.
      3. Bella McCoy – Bush Creek, Tenn.
    • Ages 21-30:
      1. Lindsay Batts – Ashland City, Tenn.
      2. Hillary Klug – Shelbyville, Tenn.
      3. Doug Ogle – Cohutta, Ga.
    • Ages 31 and up:
      1. Cheryl Chunn – Greenbrier, Tenn.
      2. Cassie Cornish – Hendersonville, Tenn.
      3. Sherry Ogle – Cohutta, Ga.
    • Clogging Team:
      1. Main Stage Revolution – Springfield, Tenn.
      2. Main Stage Explosion – Springfield, Tenn.
      3. Main Stage Fusion – Springfield, Tenn.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer