Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Americana Music Association Unveils Honors & Awards Nominees

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Americana Music Association Honors & AwardsThe Americana Music Association announced the nominees for its 15th annual Honors & Awards show this evening at an event held at the historic Mansion on O Street in Washington, D.C. The invitation only affair, presented by the musicFIRST Coalition, was attended by members of Congress and musicians and streamed live via Facebook exclusively through NPR Music.

Hosted by The Milk Carton Kids — Kenneth Pattengale and Joey Ryan — and featured performances by Lucinda Williams, Margo Price and Sierra Hull & Ethan Jodziewicz.

The full list of categories and nominees for the Americana Music Association’s 15th Annual Honors & Awards is:

  • Album of the Year
    • Something More Than Free, Jason Isbell, Produced by Dave Cobb
    • The Ghosts of Highway 20, Lucinda Williams, Produced by Greg Leisz, Tom Overby and Lucinda Williams
    • The Very Last Day, Parker Millsap, Produced by Parker Millsap and Gary Paczosa
    • Traveller, Chris Stapleton, Produced by Dave Cobb and Chris Stapleton
  • Artist of the Year
    • Jason Isbell
    • Bonnie Raitt
    • Chris Stapleton
    • Lucinda Williams
  • Duo/Group of the Year
    • Alabama Shakes
    • Emmylou Harris & Rodney Crowell
    • Lake Street Dive
    • The Milk Carton Kids
    • Tedeschi Trucks Band
  • Emerging Artist of the Year
    • Leon Bridges
    • John Moreland
    • Margo Price
    • Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats
  • Song of the Year
    • “24 Frames” Jason Isbell
    • “Dime Store Cowgirl” Kacey Musgraves
    • “Hands Of Time” Margo Price
    • “S.O.B.” Nathaniel Rateliff & The Nightsweats
  • Instrumentalist of the Year
    • Cindy Cashdollar
    • Stuart Duncan
    • Jedd Hughes
    • Sara Watkins

The winners of each category will be announced during the Americana Honors and Awards show on September 21, 2016 at the historic Ryman Auditorium in Nashville, TN. The celebrated program is the capstone event of “AmericanaFest,” the Americana Music Festival and Conference, which runs from September 20-25, 2016.

Each year, the Americana Music Association honors distinguished members of the music community with six member voted annual awards and with Lifetime Achievement Awards, which will be announced leading up to the event.

Described by Emmylou Harris as “the shining star of Nashville and music everywhere,” the Americana Honors and Awards show has been broadcast in the past on AXS TV, PBS, and via SiriusXM Radio, BBC2, WSM, Voice of America and The show has featured many amazing moments in musical history including Johnny Cash & June Carter Cash's last live performance together, as well as show-stopping appearances by Don Henley, Bonnie Raitt, Gregg Allman, The Avett Brothers, Solomon Burke, Rosanne Cash, Civil Wars, Dr. John with Dan Auerbach, Patty Griffin, Levon Helm, Robert Plant and many more. Tickets for the Americana Honors & Awards are available for purchase by Conference Registrants of the weeklong event.

For more information about the Americana Honors & Awards and to purchase registrations and tickets please visit

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer