Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

ROMP Bluegrass Music Festival Announces 2016 Lineup

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

ROMP - Save the DateOwensboro, KY -- ROMP (River of Music Party) Festival will return in 2016 led by Bluegrass Hall of Fame inductee Del McCoury, famed Father of Newgrass, Sam Bush, Grammy-award winning musician and producer, Jerry Douglas presents The Earls of Leicester, and Grammy-nominated bluegrass jammers, The Infamous Stringdusters. The four-day Bluegrass, Americana and Folk music festival, celebrating its 13th year, will take place June 22-25, 2016 at Yellow Creek Park, a 150-acre facility famous for its raptor rescue center, winding creek and fishing lake, sweeping tree-lines, nature trails and vast grassy fields.

Grammy-award winners, Steep Canyon Rangers will add their progressive yet sophisticated sound to the mix, while newly inducted Hall of Fame member, Larry Sparks and The Lonesome Ramblers drive home the traditional Bluegrass Gospel sound. Other notable acts include veteran ensemble, The Travelin' McCourys, all-female group, Della Mae, IBMA guitar player of the year, Bryan Sutton and more. Full list of scheduled artists can be found below. Additional artists will be added in the coming weeks.

Pre-sale tickets are now available through A 12-hour special runs from December 11 at noon cst until midnight. More information can be found at

Original arts and crafts, farm-to-table and organic food vendors, and professionally-led children's activities (including a spray park and playgrounds), draw large audiences to ROMP.

The International Bluegrass Music Museum, producer of the event, will open new exhibits, host performances throughout the daytime, and present a film festival of documentaries the museum has produced on Bluegrass Music's First Generation, including Bill Monroe, the Father of Bluegrass Music. Museum admission is free to festival-goers.

Attendees are encouraged to bring their instruments and jam with ROMP artists day and night, or dance until dawn at the infamous after parties, featuring national acts on the cabin stage in the park's rustic Pioneer Village.

A full line-up of artist-led instrument workshops takes place throughout the day, giving musicians the chance to interact and teach fans and players of all ages and skill levels. Other workshops and forums include songwriting, clogging and flat-foot dancing, yoga (all levels), and healthy living through music.

Artist additions, single day tickets, volunteer opportunities, vendor applications and daily schedules will be available in 2016. To stay up-to-date with the latest news from ROMP fest, music fans can visit, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and sign-up to become a ROMP insider.

The ROMP 2016 lineup includes:

  • Del McCoury Band
  • Sam Bush Band
  • Jerry Douglas presents the Earls of Leicester
  • Infamous Stringdusters
  • Steep Canyon Rangers
  • Larry Sparks and the Lonesome Ramblers
  • Bryan Sutton Band
  • Della Mae
  • The Travelin' McCourys
  • Scythian
  • Town Mountain
  • Mipso
  • Wood & Wire
  • Front Country
  • The Tillers
  • Jon Stickley Trio
  • The Lil' Smokies
  • Old Salt Union
  • Monogram (Czech Republic)
  • Breaking Grass
  • Bumper Jacksons
  • Annabelle Watts and Friends
  • KY BlueGrass AllStars

ROMP, an annual fundraising event, supports the International Bluegrass Music Museum. Located in the RiverPark Center Complex in Owensboro, the Bluegrass Museum is the world's only arts institution dedicated to the preservation of the international history of bluegrass music.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer