Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

The Earls of Leicester Sweep International Bluegrass Music Awards

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

IBMA Awards LogoRaleigh, NC -- Bluegrass music’s finest were honored last evening at the 26th Annual International Bluegrass Music Awards, handed out in front of full house at the Duke Energy Center in Raleigh, N.C. The Earls of Leicester swept with four wins: Entertainer of the Year, Album of the Year, Instrumental Group of the Year, and Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year. Add to that Earls of Leicester member Jerry Douglas’ win for Dobro Player of the Year and Earls member Shawn Camp’s Male Vocalist of the Year win; a good night indeed for the five-piece band.

Additionally, North Carolina’s own Balsam Range took home Vocal Group of the Year, Song of the Year for “Moon Over Memphis” and the group’s Tim Surrett earned Bass Player of the Year. Bill Keith and Larry Sparks were inducted into the International Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame.

Hosted by The Gibson Brothers, the show featured performances by The Earls of Leicester, Flatt Lonesome, Hot Rize, The Del McCoury Band, The Gibson Brothers, and a surprise performance by Alison Krauss and Larry Sparks. The evening was streamed live on

“Congratulations to each of the IBMA Awards winners, it is quite an honor and achievement to have your professional peers recognize you in this way,” said IBMA Executive Director Paul Schiminger. “To all winners and nominees, you have achieved a standard of excellence we all admire and celebrate.”

Cybergrass announced the 2015 26th Annual International Bluegrass Music Award Winners immediately after the Awards program's conclusion.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer