Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Balsam Range is 2014 IBMA Entertainer of the Year

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Balsam RangeRaleigh, NC -- North Carolina’s own Balsam Range took home the Entertainer of the Year award at the 25th annual International Bluegrass Music Awards Thursday night, October 2nd, at Raleigh, North Carolina’s Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts. It was an exciting night for the band, who also received awards for Vocal Group of the Year, and Male Vocalist (Buddy Melton).

Banjo player Noam Pikelny had a breakout night, winning Banjo Player of the Year and Album of the Year for Noam Pikelny Plays Kenny Baker Plays Bill Monroe. At an earlier awards ceremony, Hall of Fame inductee Neil Rosenberg won Best Liner Notes for the same album.

Flatt Lonesome was named Emerging Artist of the Year, and in its 39th year as a band, Special Consensus took both Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year and Recorded Event of the Year, winning IBMA awards for the first time.

Amanda Smith took home the award for Female Vocalist of the Year; both Smith and Melton were first-time winners in these categories.

Bluegrass Hall of Fame inductees, the original Seldom Scene and Dr. Neil Rosenberg, of Canada, were honored in special presentations. Rosenberg’s induction was celebrated with a performance from fellow Canadians The Spinney Brothers, joined by fiddle players Michael Cleveland, Stuart Duncan, and Jason Carter. Original members of the Seldom Scene – Ben Eldridge, John Starling and Tom Gray – accepted their award to a standing ovation, noting the late John Duffey and Mike Auldridge in their acceptance speech. The band – both original members and the current band – then performed their signature hit “Wait A Minute.”

Hosted by Lee Ann Womack and Jerry Douglas, the 2014 IBMA Awards Show featured a number of virtuoso-level, high-energy live performances from The Boxcars, Claire Lynch, Gibson Brothers, Della Mae, Blue Highway, Noam Pikelny, Del McCoury Band, Balsam Range, Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen and individual performances from each host, Lee Ann Womack and Jerry Douglas.

The International Bluegrass Music Awards are voted on by the professional membership of the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA), which serves as the trade association for the bluegrass music industry. The IBMA Awards Show is the centerpiece of the World of Bluegrass Week, Sept 30 – October 4 in Raleigh, NC, which also includes the IBMA Business Conference and Wide Open Bluegrass festival.

The IBMA Awards Show was broadcast live on Sirius XM Satellite Radio (Bluegrass Junction). The show will be syndicated to more than 300 U.S. markets and 14 foreign networks, thanks to the sponsorship of John Pearse Strings, Deering Banjos, Mountain Home Music, Compass Records and the International Bluegrass Music Museum. The sponsors for the live-streamed broadcast were Yep Roc, Deering Banjos, Bluegrass Today and Music City Roots. Program directors and station managers may sign up to be affiliates by calling (615) 256-3222 or emailing The show will also be posted on AirPlay Direct for broadcasters in the coming week.

A complete list of nominees, this year’s Bluegrass Hall of Fame inductees and the recipients of the Distinguished Achievement Award are listed below.

The 2014 International Bluegrass Music Awards

Hall of Fame Inductees: The Original Seldom Scene, Neil Rosenberg

Entertainer of the Year: Balsam Range

Vocal Group of the Year: Balsam Range

Instrumental Group of the Year: Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen

Male Vocalist of the Year: Buddy Melton

Female Vocalist of the Year: Amanda Smith

Emerging Artist of the Year: Flatt Lonesome

Album of the Year: Noam Pikelny Plays Kenny Baker Plays Bill Monroe - Noam Pikelny (artist) Gabe Witcher (producer), Compass Records

Song of the Year: “Dear Sister” - Claire Lynch (artist), Claire Lynch and Louisa Branscomb (writers)

Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year: “Thank God I’m A Country Boy”- Special Consensus with Buddy Spicher, Michael Cleveland and Alison Brown (artists), Country Boy: A Bluegrass Tribute to John Denver (album), John Martin Sommers (writer), Alison Brown (producer), Compass Records

Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year: “Won’t It Be Wonderful There” - Dailey & Vincent (artist), Brothers of the Highway (album), Mildred Styles Johnson (writer), Jamie Dailey and Darrin Vincent (producers), Rounder Records

Recorded Event of the Year: “Wild Montana Skies” - Special Consensus with Claire Lynch & Rob Ickes (artists), Alison Brown (producer), Compass Records

Mandolin Player of the Year: Adam Steffey

Dobro Player of the Year: Phil Leadbetter

Bass Player of the Year: Barry Bales

Fiddle Player of the Year: Jason Carter

Guitar Player of the Year: Bryan Sutton

Banjo Player of the Year: Noam Pikelny

Special Awards (presented earlier on Thurs. Oct. 2)

Bluegrass Songwriter of the Year: Tim Stafford

Broadcaster of the Year: Kyle Cantrell, Bluegrass Junction, Sirius XM

Print/Media Person of the Year: Chris Jones, writer at Bluegrass Today

Bluegrass Event of the Year: Bluegrass Underground

Best Graphic Design for a Recorded Project: Lou Everhart (designer), Lonely Comes Easy, Chris Jones & the Night Drivers, Rebel Records

Best Liner Notes for a Recorded Project: Neil V Rosenberg, Noam Pikelny Plays Kenny Baker Plays Bill Monroe, Noam Pikelny, Compass Records

Distinguished Achievement Award recipients: Bill Keith, Deering Banjos, the European Bluegrass Music Association, Hillbilly at Harvard, and The Delmore Brothers.

Momentum Awards (presented Wednesday, October 1):

Instrumentalists of the Year: Dominick Leslie (mandolin), Jake Stargel (guitar), Cory Walker (banjo)

Vocalist of the Year: Jesse Gregory (Jesse Gregory & Faultline)

Band of the Year: The Barefoot Movement

New Festival or Venue of the Year: Bluegrass Situation showcases at Bonaroo & Americana Music Association

Industry Involvement of the Year: Ashlee-Jean Trott, Music City Roots/Bluegrass Underground

Mentor of the Year: Tim Surrett

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer