Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

IBMA’s Momentum Awards Nominees Announced

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Sarah HarrisNashville, TN -- The International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) announced the nominees for this year’s Momentum Awards; the nominees were announced today through the bluegrass organization’s social media sites. The winners of the 2014 Momentum Awards will be presented with their awards at a luncheon on Wednesday, Oct. 1 in Raleigh, North Carolina, as part of IBMA’s World of Bluegrass event, September 30-October 4.

The Momentum Awards were instituted in 2012 to recognize both musicians and bluegrass industry professionals who, while in the early stages of their careers, have contributed to, or had an influence on, bluegrass music. These contributions can be to bluegrass music in general, or done in a specific part of the industry.

"One of the distinctive features of the bluegrass world is that the peak years of careers are often measured in decades, even as we welcome an abundance of new artists and industry professionals into the ranks,” said Jon Weisberger, IBMA Board chair. “So as our top artists and professionals continue to enjoy recognition from their peers through its annual awards, the IBMA's Board of Directors saw a need to salute some of the best and brightest among those who are closer to the beginnings of their careers, and created the Momentum Awards--noteworthy for including not just singers, pickers and bands, but events or venues and professionals--as a vehicle for drawing attention to their achievements.”

Starting with recommendations from the IBMA membership, nominees are chosen by committees through a multi-stage process involving respected musicians and industry leaders in the bluegrass world.

“Momentum Award nominees and recipients are chosen by small committees of whose members' experiences and vantage points within the industry give them the broad awareness and perspective needed to make good choices,” said Weisberger. “Though the awards are just a couple of years old, they're already helping to create new fans and new opportunities."

The 2014 Momentum Awards are sponsored by AirPlay Direct, the Boston Bluegrass Union and the California Bluegrass Association.

This year’s Momentum Award nominees are:

  • Performance Award nominees, Instrumentalists (final committee will select 3)
    • Mike Barnett (fiddle)
    • Casey Campbell (mandolin)
    • Dominick Leslie (mandolin)
    • Cory Piatt (mandolin)
    • Cory Walker (banjo)
    • Janice Martin (banjo)
    • Andrew Rigney (guitar)
    • Zeb Snyder (guitar)
    • Jake Stargel (guitar)
  • Performance Award nominees, Vocalist (final committee to select 1)
    • Savannah Church (The Church Sisters)
    • Jesse Gregory (Jesse Gregory & Faultline)
    • Sarah Harris (Trinity River Band)
    • Mo Pitney
    • Molly Tuttle (Molly Tuttle Trio)
  • Performance Award nominees, Band (final Committee to select 1)
    • Barefoot Movement
    • The Lil’ Smokies
    • Meyerband
    • The Snyder Family
    • Vickie Vaughn Band
  • Industry Involvement Award nominees, Media/Artisan/Business/General
    • Jamie Deering – Deering Banjos
    • Cory Hemilright – Outer Banks Bluegrass Festival
    • Megan McNair – Sugar Hill Records
    • Ashlee Jean Trott – Music City Roots/Bluegrass Underground
    • Aaron Youngberg – Swing Fingers Studio
  • Nominees for Festival/Event/Venue
    • Bluegrass Situation showcases at Bonaroo & Americana Music Association
    • Colonial Theater, Balsam Range monthly concert series – Canton, NC
    • ISIS Music Hall – Asheville, NC
    • Redwing Roots – Mount Solon, VA
    • The Festy – Roseland, VA
  • Mentor Award (given to a bluegrass professional who has made a significant impact on the lives and careers of newcomers to the
  • bluegrass industry):
    • Jim Lauderdale
    • Stephen Mougin
    • Ricky Skaggs
    • Tim Surrett
    • Pete Wernick

IBMA – the International Bluegrass Music Association – is the professional trade organization for the global bluegrass music community.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer