Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Performers, Presenters Announced for Bluegrass Music Awards

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

The Seldom SceneNashville, TN -- Performers and presenters for the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA)’s 25th International Bluegrass Music Awards, held on Thursday, October 2 at 7:30 p.m. EST, have been announced. The Awards Show, held at Raleigh, North Carolina’s Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts (Memorial Auditorium) will feature performances and award presentations from some of the genre’s brightest stars.

Performers include all five 2014 Entertainer of the Year nominees: Balsam Range, Blue Highway, Dailey & Vincent, The Gibson Brothers and The Del McCoury Band. Also scheduled to perform is Female Vocalist/Song of the Year nominee Claire Lynch, Instrumental Group of the Year nominee Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen, last year’s Emerging Artist recipient Della Mae, and The Boxcars, leading the pack in 2014 with ten nominations. Awards Show hosts Lee Ann Womack and Jerry Douglas will also perform that evening.

Members of the original Seldom Scene - Ben Eldridge, Tom Gray and John Starling - will be part of a special Seldom Scene performance celebrating their induction into the Hall of Fame. Also, Emerging Artist of the Year nominee The Spinney Brothers will give tribute to this year’s other Hall of Fame inductee, bluegrass historian Neil Rosenberg.

Tony Trischka, Dale Ann Bradley, Jens Kruger, Bela Fleck, Noam Pikelny, Doyle Lawson, Jason Carter, Kimber Ludiker, Missy Raines, Ben Surratt, Joe Mullins, Junior Sisk and Sierra Hull have been announced as presenters.

The Awards Show is the centerpiece of IBMA’s five-day World of Bluegrass event, to be held September 30-October 4 in Raleigh, NC. Awards are voted on by the professional membership of the IBMA, the trade association for the bluegrass music industry.

"The IBMA Awards have long been the annual celebration of the community surrounding our rich musical tradition. And this year is no exception,” said Amy Reitnouer, who is co-producing the Awards Show with Chris Stuart. “With a diverse range of presenters, performers and special guests, October 2nd's awards show is sure to surprise and delight, representing where bluegrass has come from, where it is now, and the places it's going."

“In one sense, this is the easiest show in the world to produce because we simply let some of the best bluegrass artists in the world do their thing,” said Stuart. “We have the two hosts, Jerry Douglas and Lee Ann Womack, performing as well as the five nominees for Entertainer of the Year - and so many more, including an unannounced surprise or two …. Throw them all on stage, sit back and enjoy.”

The IBMA Awards Show will be broadcast live on Sirius XM Satellite Radio (Bluegrass Junction), streamed live by Music City Roots and available at and, and syndicated to more than 300 U.S. markets and 14 foreign networks, thanks to the sponsorship of Deering Banjos, John Pearse Strings, Compass Records, Mountain Home Music, the International Bluegrass Music Museum, Yep Roc, and Music City Roots.

Those wishing to obtain Award Show tickets, Bluegrass Ramble Showcase passes, IBMA Business Conference registration, tickets for the ticketed portion of Wide Open Bluegrass (which takes place at Red Hat Amphitheater and Raleigh Convention Center Ballroom Stages) and hotel reservations should go to IBMA’s website, Additional details and pricing information are available at the website.

A complete list of nominees, this year’s Hall of Fame inductees, and the recipients of the Distinguished Achievement Award can be found at

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer