Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Wayne Taylor Releases 8th Project - Movin' On

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Movin' OnWayne Taylor has produced his eighth project, a solo album entitled, Movin' On. This CD should prove to be one of his best! This diverse collection of songs features "Red Is The Color", a tribute to his friend Jim Red Cloud from South Dakota, who lost his son in 2010. Wayne draws from life's ups and downs to weave together a colorful tapestry of music. The album covers bluegrass and acoustic music styles showcasing Wayne's broad ability and talent.

Wayne was a former member of the US Navy Band in Washington, DC from 1987 till 2008. He has performed in 49 of the 50 states, at the Grand Ole Opry, in many foreign countries, and for four US Presidents at the White House.

Jim Red Cloud wrote in the liner notes,

The power of music in the right hands is a thing to witness. The Rock is a very small island isolated in the middle of the Pacific, far away from everything. Wayne and his music would help everyone feel better about where we were in time and space. One night in particular, Wayne took his guitar to the Dispensary and helped to calm and stabilize a friend who had become violently stir crazy. To this day, that man remembers this as the only moment in his life that he felt truly loved and cared for by another human being. It was a beautiful thing.

The tribute song, "Red is the Color" is a touching tribute to not only Jim but also the Native American. Other songs transition the musical sea from bluegrass to acoustic and again. With songs like the traditional "Scarborough Fair" made famous by Simon and Garfunkel to "Old Home Place" a bluegrass favorite the album hosts songs of familiarity however, it doesn't stop there. Wayne wrote many of the tracks allowing listeners to capture his songwriting skills as well as his musical abilities. This adds a new look at the artist that comes across nicely with the blend of tracks.

Wayne is joined by an array of top bluegrass talent on this album including Dale Ann Bradley, Steve Gulley, Emory Lester, Kene Hyatt, Keith Arneson, Gaven Largent, Rickie Simpkins and Jim Red Cloud. Wayne plays guitar and sings lead vocals on the album.

Track List for Movin' On"

  1. "Movin' On"
  2. "My Baby's Love"
  3. "Hills Of Sonora"
  4. "Gamblin' Man"
  5. "Off My Mind"
  6. "Red Is The Color"
  7. "Forgiveness"
  8. "Havin' A Ball"
  9. "Old Home Place"
  10. "Scarborough Fair"
  11. "Sing With Me"
  12. "Dark Hollow"

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer