Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

"Long Time...Seldom Scene" due April 22, 2014

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Long Time...Seldom SceneWashington, DC -- Smithsonian Folkways will be releasing a collection by bluegrass music favorites, the Seldom Scene this April. The album, Long Time...Seldom Scene contains some of the band's most popular arrangements. For more than four decades, profoundly influential bluegrass band The Seldom Scene has shared its undeniable talent, progressive repertoire, and creative spirit both in the studio and on stage. The Seldom Scene dedicates this album to the memory of founding members John Duffey (1934-1996) and Mike Auldridge (1938-2012).

Long Time...Seldom Scene features fresh interpretations of 16 often-requested tunes and is the band’s first studio album since the Grammy-nominated album Scenechronized in 2007. It’s a family reunion in all the best ways, featuring the current (and longest-running) lineup, joined by founding members Tom Gray and John Starling and guests Chris Eldridge, Emmylou Harris, and Rickie Simpkins.

What does it take for a bluegrass band to remain popular for more than four decades? For the Seldom Scene, it's taken not only talented musicians, a signature sound, and a solid repertoire, but also a sheer sense of fun. On April 22, the longtime pillars of the bluegrass world will return with the aptly titled Long Time...Seldom Scene.

CLICK HERE to listen to a two song sneak preview of Long Time.....Seldom Scene

This is The Seldom Scene's first ever release with Smithsonian Folkways, and captures the identity and playfulness that have endeared the group to audiences around the world for so long. "Hickory Wind" is a homesick ballad that features the vocals of longtime friend of the Scene, Emmylou Harris, who originally recorded the song on her Blue Kentucky Girl album in 1980. Fan favorite "Wait a Minute" is a fresh take of a song originally recorded for 1974's Old Train album and includes founding member John Starling (vocals) and guests Rickie Simpkins (fiddle) and Chris Eldridge (guitar), son of founding member Ben Eldridge (banjo).

Over 40 years since they began playing together at weekly jam sessions in Ben Eldridge’s Bethesda, Maryland basement, The Seldom Scene have become one of the single greatest contributors to the progression of bluegrass while setting a new standard and attracting new audiences to the genre. Their legendary weekly DC-area residencies included bluegrass versions of country music, rock, and even classical pop.

The band's popularity soon forced them to play more than once a week—but they continued to maintain their image as being seldom seen, and on several of their early album covers were photographed with the stage lights on only their feet, or with their backs to the camera. The Seldom Scene have performed at the White House many times, and continue to tour year-round.

The Seldom Scene are founding member Ben Eldridge (banjo), Lou Reid (mandolin/vocals), Dudley Connell (guitar/vocals), Ronnie Simpkins (bass/vocals), and Fred Travers (dobro/vocals). The album was produced by three-time GRAMMY award-winning Smithsonian Folkways Sound Production Supervisor Pete Reiniger.

Long Time...Seldom Scene Track Listing:

  1. "California Cottonfields"
  2. "Wait a Minute"
  3. "What Am I Doing Hangin Round"
  4. "Hickory Wind"
  5. "I ll Be No Stranger There"
  6. "Walk Through This World with Me"
  7. "Big Train (from Memphis)"
  8. "With Body and Soul"
  9. "Paradise"
  10. "It s All Over Now, Baby Blue"
  11. "Mean Mother Blues"
  12. "My Better Years"
  13. "Little Georgia Rose"
  14. "Like I Used to Do"
  15. "Through the Bottom of the Glass"
  16. "Lorena"

Upcoming tour dates include visits to NY, VA, NC, SC, CA, PA, TN, MD, KY, NJ, and TX.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer