Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Initial List of IBMA Awards Show Performers & Presenters Announced

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Balsam RangeNashville, Tenn. (August. 28, 2013) — An initial list of performers and presenters for the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA)’s 24th International Bluegrass Music Awards, held on Thursday, September 26 at 7:30 p.m. EST, has been announced. The Awards Show, held at Raleigh, North Carolina’s Duke Energy Center for the Performing Artist (Memorial Auditorium) will feature performances and award presentations from some of the genre’s brightest stars.

Announced performers include all five of 2013’s “Entertainer of the Year” nominees - Balsam Range, Blue Highway, Dailey &Vincent, The Gibson Brothers and The Del McCoury Band - as well as Female Vocalist nominee Rhonda Vincent and her band the Rage, and Awards Show hosts the Steep Canyon Rangers.

Presenters will include Terry Baucom, a Recorded Event nominee; the Boxcars’ multiple nominee John Bowman; Female Vocalist nominee Dale Ann Bradley; Silvio Ferretti, founding member of Italy’s seminal bluegrass band Red Wine; Mandolin Player nominee Sierra Hull; multiple nominee Claire Lynch; veteran banjo award winner Jim Mills; Punch Brother – and nominee - Noam Pikelny; chart-topping duo The Roys; Frank Solivan, a multiple nominee with his band, Dirty Kitchen; Canada’s The Spinney Brothers, Emerging Artist nominees; Ron Stewart, a multiple nominee for his work with The Boxcars; and banjoist Pete Wernick, a former IBMA president whose celebrated career with Hot Rize and as a solo artist helped earn him a Distinguished Achievement Award.

A finalized lineup of performers and presenters will be announced in the coming weeks.

Balsam Range, Blue Highway, Dailey & Vincent, The Gibson Brothers,The Del McCoury Band, Rhonda Vincent and the Rage and Awards Show hosts the Steep Canyon Rangers are among the many confirmed performers and presenters.

The Awards Show is the centerpiece of World of Bluegrass Week (#WOB13), to be held September 24 – 28 in Raleigh, NC. Awards are voted on by the professional membership of the IBMA, the trade association for the bluegrass music industry.

"We've upped the game for our first year in Raleigh, with some very special performances and presentations," said Chris Stuart, who is co-producing the Awards Show with Jon Weisberger. "We'll have more news in the next few weeks as we finalize the list of performers and presenters for the evening, but I'd recommend people get tickets now because we may be looking at a sold-out show. There is already huge buzz about it. Raleigh has come up with a world-class venue for us that I think everyone's going to love."

The IBMA Awards Show will be broadcast live on Sirius XM Satellite Radio (Bluegrass Junction) and syndicated to more than 300 U.S. markets and 14 foreign networks, thanks to the sponsorship of John Pearse Strings, Deering Banjos, Compass Records, the International Bluegrass Music Museum, and Music City Roots. Program directors and station managers may sign up to be affiliates online at

The complete list of nominees, this year’s Hall of Fame inductees, and the recipients of the Distinguished Achievement Award be found at .

For more details and to purchase tickets/register for the International Bluegrass Music Awards, the ticketed portion of the Wide Open Bluegrass weekend festival and the Bluegrass Ramble showcase series, lodging and camping options, and more, visit or call 1-888-GET-IBMA.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer