Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Compass Records Artists Lead Bluegrass Awards Nominations

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

They Called It MusicNashville, TN -- Nominees for the 2013 International Bluegrass Music Awards were announced at the Loveless Barn in Nashville, where Compass Records bluegrass bands and their respective members received the most nominations out of any label with 22 total nominations. Reigning Entertainers of the Year The Gibson Brothers topped the list with a collective eight nominations, Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen received five total nominations and Claire Lynch and her band garnered four. A full list of nominations can be read here.

“We are honored and humbled by the nominations we have received,” says Eric Gibson, “Thank you to the IBMA voters for this incredible honor and congratulations to all of the nominees.” Individually and as an ensemble, members of the Gibson Brothers received nominations for Entertainer of the Year, Vocal Group, Album of the Year for their new project They Called It Music, Song of the Year for “They Called It Music,” and Gospel Recorded Event for “Home on the River.” Eric Gibson was also nominated in the Bluegrass Songwriter category along with Louisa Branscomb. Gibson Brothers mandolinist Jesse Brock also earned a nomination for Mandolin Player of the Year.

Compass claimed three of the five coveted Album of the Year spots with Peter Rowan’s The Old School, Claire Lynch’s Dear Sister, and The Gibson Brothers' They Called It Music. Fast rising Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen were nominated for Emerging Artist of the Year, Instrumental Group of the Year, and Recorded Event of the Year for their collaboration with Tim O’Brien and Rob Ickes for “On The Edge of Letting Go” from On The Edge. Banjoist Mike Munford was also nominated for Banjo Player of the Year.

Additional nominees in the vocalist and instrumental categories include Dale Ann Bradley and Claire Lynch for Female Vocalist of the Year, Mark Schatz and Missy Raines for Bass Player of the Year, and Compass newcomer Michael Cleveland for Fiddle Player of the Year. Two artists were recognized in the Momentum Awards categories this year as well: guitarist Chris Luquette of Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen for Instrumental Performer and The Bankesters, who welcome a Band nomination in anticipation of their upcoming September 24th release Love Has Wheels.

Awards are voted on by the professional membership of the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA), the trade association for the bluegrass music industry. Results of the balloting will be revealed at the International Bluegrass Music Awards on Thursday, September 26 as the centerpiece of the World of Bluegrass Week, held September 24-28 in Raleigh, North Carolina at which Compass artist Noam Pikelny will be the Keynote Speaker. The IBMA Awards Show will also be broadcast live on SiriusXM Satellite Radio (Bluegrass Junction).

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer