Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

New CD from Jeff Scroggins and Colorado Coming May 7

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Western BranchesThe new CD, Western Branches, from Jeff Scroggins and Colorado is coming soon. Western Branches was produced by Sally Van Meter and recorded at The Kitchen Sink in Chupadero, NM. It features 12 tracks with a great mixture of originals, traditionals and cover songs (see below). Jeff Scroggins and Colorado is a high energy, high mountain bluegrass band that features the amazing banjo playing of Jeff Scroggins. Jeff’s fiery style and lightning fast licks have earned him many fans worldwide, and have left many a first time listener in total disbelief.

It also showcases the award-winning mandolin playing of Jeff’s son Tristan Scroggins. Tristan is also an accomplished songwriter, and his and Jeff’s original instrumentals—two of which can be found on Western Branches—play a large role in the band’s unique and energetic sound.

The band also features incredible bluegrass vocals, led by the powerful voice of front man Greg Blake. Greg has twice been nominated for the SPBGMA Midwest Traditional Male Vocalist of the Year award and his phenomenal bluegrass guitar playing has earned him 9 nominations and an amazing 5 consecutive wins as the SPBGMA Midwest Guitarist of the Year.

Annie Savage brings to the group strong vocals and an aggressive fiddle style that is well suited to the band’s high energy approach. A conservatory trained musician, she is in demand as both a performer and teacher, and she will be an instructor at the 2013 Steve Kaufman Acoustic Kamp.

KC Groves is truly a Colorado music icon; she was recently recognized for her contributions to the Colorado bluegrass and acoustic music scene by being inducted into the Colorado Bluegrass Music Society’s Hall of Honor. Perhaps best known as a founding member of the Rounder recording group Uncle Earl and as the leader of the long running Oskar Blues bluegrass jam in her home town of Lyons, Colorado, KC brings great singing, songwriting and bass playing to the band that contribute heavily to the band’s sound and Colorado identity.

Western Branches Track Lists:

  1. "Wheels" (Parsons & Hillman)
  2. "New Mexico" (Groves & Hunter)
  3. "Lonesome George" (T. Scroggins)
  4. "Falling Leaves" (Jones)
  5. "Last Left to Go" (Cochran & Blake)
  6. "One Morning in May" (trad)
  7. "Things in Life" (Stover)
  8. "Cat and Mouse" (J. Scroggins)
  9. "Mama Don't Forget to Pray For Me" (Cordle & Shell)
  10. "Redwood Hill" (Lightfoot)
  11. "Bramble and the Rose" (Keith)
  12. "By the Time it Gets Dark" (Denny)

For more about Jeff Scroggins & Colorado and to pre-order, visit the Jeff Scroggins & Colorado website.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer