Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

IBMA Announces Leadership Bluegrass Class of 2013

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 Sheila Selby, Kristi Wilcox, Susie Glaze, Katherine Coe, Jordan Laney, Kayla Hotte.Nashville, TN -- The International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) is proud to announce the graduating class of Leadership Bluegrass 2013. Leadership Bluegrass is an intensive, three-day program focused on interactive learning and networking experiences that invite participants to examine the challenges and opportunities facing the bluegrass music industry, along with leadership development issues. This was the 14th year of Leadership Bluegrass, which now boasts over 300 alumni.

Leadership Bluegrass 2013 was hosted at BMI, and Bone McAllester Norton PLLC in Nashville, Tennessee March 7 through 9. Trisha Tubbs was the facilitator. Each year participants are selected through a selective application process and are a cross section of current and future leaders from various aspects of the industry, and come from various regions of the U.S. and the world.

Freelance writer and journalist Shannon Turner, a Leadership Bluegrass 2013 graduate, said she will always value being a part of the class. “Leadership Bluegrass is an invaluable program of learning, growth, and even transformation. You leave with a renewed energy and determination to spread the gospel of bluegrass music,” Turner said. The Bluegrass Situation’s Amy Reitnouer, who was also a participant agreed, saying, “I was awed by the fellow classmates, network of alumni, and incredible presenters.”

Congratulations to our graduates:

  • Darin Aldridge; Darin and Brooke Aldridge; Cherryville, NC
  • Melissa Armstrong; Detour; Sand Lake, MI
  • Andrea Ball; Make Welcome Entertainment; Washington, DC
  • Katherine Coe; IBMA; Nashville, TN
  • Jeremy Darrow; The Erin McDermott Band/Freelance Musician; Nashville, TN
  • John DeMarce; DC Bluegrass Union; Washington, DC
  • Susie Glaze; Hilonesome Music, Susie Glaze & the Hilonesome Band; Burbank, CA
  • KC Groves; Artist & Composer; Lyons, CO
  • Kayla Hotte; Kayla Hotte & her Rodeo Pals; Ardrossan, Alberta, CA
  • Caroline Isachsen; Grey Fox Bluegrass Festival; Delmar, NY
  • Steven Johnson; MerleFest; Wilkesboro, NC
  • Lori King; Bluegrass Music Association of Iowa; Drakesville, IA
  • Jordan Laney; Appalachian State University; Vilas, NC
  • Ron Murphy; Muddy River Band; Wilmington, OH
  • Amy Reitnouer; The Bluegrass Situation; Los Angeles, CA
  • Carolyn Routh; Nu-Blu, Red Squared Audio; Siler City; NC
  • Sheila Selby; Boston Bluegrass Union; Brookline, MA
  • Carly Smith; International Bluegrass Music Museum; Owensboro, KY
  • Erin Stamper; WAMU’s Bluegrass Country; Washington, DC
  • Shannon Turner; Freelance writer/journalist; Hermitage, TN
  • Missy Werner; Missy Werner Band; Liberty Township, OH
  • Jill Wiese; Bluegrass Association of North Dakota; Washburn, ND
  • Kristi Wilcox; Bradley Arant Boult Cummings LLP; Nashville, TN
  • Courtney Worthen; PineCone – The Piedmont Council of Traditional Music; Raleigh, NC

The Leadership Bluegrass program pulls together a cross section of people with exhibited or potential leadership qualities into a network of learning and communication. The results will foster a broad-based understanding of the total needs of the bluegrass community, which will help participants better prepare to determine the goals of the particular organization, company or group in which they choose to serve.

The selection process for Leadership Bluegrass is competitive, with more applicants than there are positions available. While the application or recommendation does not guarantee a position in the class, IBMA does guarantee that everyone who applies will be given an equal opportunity. Enrollment and participation in Leadership Bluegrass is voluntary and a new class is selected each year. All class members are expected to bear the expense of any travel and/or lodging during the program as well as pay a class participation fee. A limited number of partial scholarships are available to qualified applicants.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer