Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Kim Robins Releases Debut Album “40 Years Late”

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

40 Years LateNashville, TN -- Kim Robins is proud to announce her debut album, 40 Years Late, set to release on Feb 5th, 2013. 40 Years Late is a timeless piece featuring 12 songs that display heartache and regeneration. Robins will be showcasing her new album with many dates in Indiana, January through March. Seven of the twelve songs were written by Robins herself, telling stories about keeping a dream in the back seat for many years; it will speak to those who have done the same. This wonderful collection includes stories that reflect Robins’ own life through her own original songs and remakes from bluegrass legends.

“This album is a mixture of traditional and progressive bluegrass, country and blues. Someone once asked me why don’t you choose one genre, and I replied because it is everything I am” quoted Kim Robins. Her favorite track on the album is “Cry” she states that it is a true story and very emotional, with wonderful instrumentals to make it a masterpiece.

Her influences include Buck Owens, Ray Price, Loretta Lynn and Barbara Mandrell. Her most influenced artists are Connie Smith, as Robins pays tribute on her on 40 Years Late, as well as Bill Monroe. Robins mimics the iconic hiccup that Connie Smith delivers on her debut album in “I’ve Got My Baby on My Mind”. 40 Years Late also features a bonus track with her father, a bluegrass great, Don Brummett and Butch Robins.

The team assembled to create 40 Years Late came together and produced an album that will be exquisite and cherished for years to come. Legendary Butch Robins on banjo; Michael Cleveland, International Bluegrass Music Association’s nine-time Fiddle Performer of the Year; Jeff Guernsey, former fiddle player for Vince Gill, on guitar; and Lynn Manzenberger, formerly with The Wilwood Valley Boys, on bass. Cleveland’s mandolin player, Nathan Livers, also played on several tracks. Richard Torstrick engineered and co-produced 40 Years Late.

40 Years Late Track Listing:

  1. Born to Roam
  2. Cry
  3. If You Lived Here
  4. Forty Years Late
  5. I’ve Got My Baby on My Mind
  6. Can’t You Hear Me Calling
  7. Another Place in Time
  8. It’s Me Again
  9. Heartache and Regret
  10. The Last Thing On My Mind
  11. I Want to Know
  12. So Long
  13. What a Friend We Have in Jesus/ Shuckin The Corn (Bonus Track)

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer