Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

New Americana Music Association Board Revises Mission Statement

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Americana Music AssociationJanuary 16, 2013 Nashville, Tennessee - The Americana Music Association announced its revised Mission Statement, newly appointed Executive Committee and goals for the 2013 calendar year during its annual Board of Directors retreat in Nashville, TN.

Taking into account the organizations responsibility that the music needs to come first for its business to succeed, and that it is the artists, and their work, which drives this passionate community, this years board members revised their manifesto to be: The mission of the Americana Music Association is to advocate for the authentic voice of American Roots Music around the world.

Additionally the Board has appointed a new Executive Committee: Holly Lowman, artist manager from Ramseur Records has been named President; independent consultant Brad Paul will remain on the Board as Past-President; producer Mark Moffatt will serve as President-Elect, and the Grammy Museum’s Lynne Sheridan will serve as Secretary. The three At Large Executive Committee members are Amanda Hale, New West Records, John Ingrassia, Vector Management and Jessie Scott of Music Fog and Hill Country. Kurt Vitolo will continue in his role as Treasurer and his firm, KV Associates will act as the Association’s accounting firm. These positions are held for one-year terms.

The focus of the retreat included an exploration of the Association’s goals for 2013 through 2018 and a strategic plan, which identified the primary categories for development and growth. These categories included:

  • Establish regional and global footprint
  • Strengthen media presence
  • Achieve financial stability through strategic sponsorships

The Board of Directors consists of 21 industry representatives elected by the Americana Music Association membership and or appointed by the Board. The 2013 Board brings new directors Shauna De Cartier of Six Shooter Records, Ingrassia, Paradigm’s Jonathan Levine and Lynne Sheridan from the Grammy Museum.

The incoming directors join Ashley Capps of AC Entertainment, Rodney Crowell, SESAC’s Tim Fink, Mary Gauthier, Hale, Nashville attorney Wayne Halper, Voice of America’s Joan Kornblith, Austin City Limits’ Terry Lickona, Lowman, Buddy Miller, Moffatt, Al Moss, Paul, Scott, Vitolo and Emilee Warner from Crash Avenue.

Described by Entertainment Weekly as "the booming genre" and "Red Hot" by the Nashville City Paper, Americana boasts some of the most groundbreaking and legendary acts in music today.

The 2013 Americana Music Association Board is poised to lead the community to new heights as the genre segues into a new year. The Americana Music Association is a professional non-profit trade organization whose mission is to advocate for the authentic voice of American Roots Music around the world.

The Association produces events throughout the year including the annual Americana Music Festival and Conference which will take place September 18-22, 2013 in Nashville, TN, widely recognized as one of the premier events in the music industry. The Americana autumn event features educational music related panels by day and a stacked schedule of musical showcases throughout the city by night including the critically acclaimed Americana Honors and Awards show at the historic Ryman Auditorium, recognizing both annual and lifetime achievements in the Americana music community.

Festival and Conference Registrations are now available by calling the Americana Music Association office at (615) 386-6936 or through the store at

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer