Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Cory Piatt's Daydreams Shows Off Mandolin Style

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version
Cory Piatt: DaydreamsBorn in Winston-Salem, NC into a musical family, Cory Piatt discovered the mandolin at age 7, performing with his family at festivals and contests in the region. As his talent began to develop, so did is opportunities. Before long he was on the road with the Texas-based gospel project Appointed.

Currently, Cory makes his home in Nashville, TN, and holds down the mandolin position for The Kenny and Amanda Smith band. And so the time has come for a solo project. The new Patuxent Music release, Daydreams, serves as a fitting introduction to the world of the prodigious talents of Cory Piatt. The album hits the ground running with the aptly titled original, "Crossfire," a roller­coaster ride of a tune that serves as both opening statement and appetizer, followed up by the more traditional and resplendent, "Ashley's Reel" featuring grand turns by Scott Vestal and Bryan McDowell on banjo and fiddle, respectively.

Keith lends his stellar vocals to the, contemplative "Good at LosingYou," while the Piatt/Mcdowell penned "Land Rush" features one of the finest mandolin breaks I've ever heard captured on record in Piatt's second pass, as well as a game of guitar tag between the aforementioned McDowell and Jake Stargel that comes up aces.

Cory pays homage to his family band roofs with his brother Owen taking crisp banjo turns on "Poor Boy" and "Sad Songs", the latter featuring the vocal stylings of Ronnie Bowman, as well as another ear-bending mandolin break.

The album closes with the Piatt original "Universal Truth," which not only closes this collection in fine fashion, but augurs well for what the future holds for this stellar young musician.

The album features these fine artists:

  • Cory Piatt - mandolin
  • Bryan McDowell - fiddle, guitar
  • Jake Stargel - guitar
  • Mark Schatz - bass
  • Darren Beachley - vocals
  • Brandon Bostic - vocals
  • Ronnie Bowman - vocals
  • Keith Garrett - vocals
  • Randy Kohrs - resophonic guitar
  • Gaven Largent - resophonic guitar
  • Owen Piatt - banjo
  • Jim VanCleve - fiddle
  • Scott Vestal- banjo

The Tracklist for Daydreams is:

  1. "Crossfire"
  2. "Ashley's Reel"
  3. "Good at Losing You"
  4. "Land Rush"
  5. "Poor Boy"
  6. "Ride the Wild Turkey"
  7. "Sad Songs"
  8. "Tell Me Somethin'"
  9. "That's Just Jessie"
  10. "The Beauty of Idleness"
  11. "A Universal Truth"

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer