Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

23rd International Bluegrass Music Awards and Honors

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

The Gibson BrothersThe Gibson Brothers took home the “Entertainer of the Year” Award at the 23rd annual International Bluegrass Music Awards Thursday night, September 27, 2012 at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium. Brothers Eric and Leigh Gibson, along with their band (Mike Barber, Clayton Campbell and Joe Walsh) also picked up an award for “Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year” for “Singing As We Rise.”

Junior Sisk & Ramblers Choice was another big winner of the night, winning “Album of the Year” (The Heart of a Song) and “Single of the Year“ (“A Far Cry From Lester & Earl”). Russell Moore (of Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out) and Dale Ann Bradley were male and female vocalists of the year, respectively, and Joe Mullins & The Radio Ramblers were the recipients of the prestigious Emerging Artist award. A full listing of all this year’s winners and award recipients appears below.

Doyle Lawson and the late Ralph Rinzler were the 2012 Hall of Fame inductees.

As always, some of the best musicians in bluegrass delivered a night filled with amazing performances. Hosts Del McCoury and Laurie Lewis joined an ensemble called “the Masters of Bluegrass” -- J.D. Crowe, Bobby Hicks, Jerry McCoury and Bobby Osborne -- to get the show off to a rousing start.

Other standout performances included Dailey & Vincent’s stirring a cappella rendition of “When The Roll is Called Up Yonder,” which brought the audience to its feet; Frank Solivan and Dirty Kitchen’s bluegrass interpretation of The Box Tops’ classic “The Letter;” and Hall of Fame inductee Doyle Lawson’s performance, with his band Quicksilver, of “Dixie Home.”

A stunning all-star finale, led by last year’s “Entertainer of the Year” recipient Steve Martin, filled the Ryman stage with some of bluegrass music’s top banjo players and musicians, in a tribute to late banjo legend Earl Scruggs, who died earlier this year. Participants in the Scruggs tribute included Tom Adams, Eddie Adcock, Jessie Baker, Terry Baucom, Sam Bush, Kristin Scott Benson, Alison Brown, Jason Burleson, Greg Cahill, Jason Carter, J.D.Crowe, Jason Davis, Joe Dean, Steve Dilling, Glenn Gibson, Eric Gibson, Mark Johnson, Doyle Lawson, Laurie Lewis, Del McCoury, Rob McCoury, Lynn Morris, Joe Mullins, Mike Munford, Chris Pandolfi, Graham Sharp, Sammy Shelor, Sleepy Man Banjo Boys (Jonny, Robbie & Tommy Mizzone), Ron Stewart, Mike Sumner, Tony Trischka, Scott Vestal, Pete Wernick, and Roland White.

Banjo Ensemble

The International Bluegrass Music Awards are voted on by the professional membership of the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA), the trade association for the bluegrass music industry. The IBMA Awards Show is the centerpiece of the World of Bluegrass Week, which also includes the IBMA Business Conference andBluegrass Fan Fest.

The entire list of awards is is posted on Cybergrass

For the first time ever, the 2012 IBMA Awards Show was broadcast live from the Ryman as streaming video on and The Awards Show was also broadcast live on Sirius XM Satellite Radio (Bluegrass Junction, Channel 14), on 650 WSM AM and will be syndicated to more than 300 U.S. markets and 14 foreign networks, thanks to sponsors Compass Records, ArtistWorks Academy of Bluegrass, Deering Banjos, BMI, the International Bluegrass Music Museum,, Boston Bluegrass Union,, and 650 WSM AM. Program directors and station managers may register as affiliates by calling 888-GET-IBMA or 615-256-3222.

For more information on World of Bluegrass week, go to, join us on Facebook, or call 615-256-3222 (1-888-GET-IBMA).p

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer