Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Tiller’s Folly Wins Big In The 11th Independent Music Awards Vox Pop Poll

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Tiller's FollyCanadian based trio Tillers’ Folly joins more than 70 exceptional self-released and independent label artists, as well as former major label acts lifted from a nominated list of more than 340 acts to win the coveted Top Song in the Social Cause category in the prestigious 11th annual Independent Music Awards (The IMAs) Vox Pop Poll, the influential awards program voted online by more than 60,000 music fans from around the globe. They won for their song “Death & Taxes”, which finds them paired with guest vocalists Josh Shilling (Mountain Heart) and legendary singer John Cowan (New Grass Revival, Doobie Brothers). The song is from their acclaimed 2012 self-released album, “Go The Road”

The other 11th IMA Winners, along with Tiller’s Folly, are an eclectic mix of established artists and artists on the rise covering a broad spectrum of today’s global independent music scene. The Nominees in over 70 Song, Album, Music Video and Design categories were culled from thousands of submissions from North America, South America, Asia, Africa, Australia and Europe.

“The Independent Music Awards celebrate musicians who follow their own muse and empower music fans who support these extraordinary recording artists, “said The IMA Executive Director Martin Folkman. “The Vox Pop Award is one of the many ways The IMA’s motivates fans to discover and support incredible, independent talent.”

“Go The Road”, an all-acoustic album, continues Tillers musical move in a refreshing new direction and promises to introduce them to new audiences in the bluegrass, folk and Americana markets. The winning song (the albums first single), “Death and Taxes” is currently serviced to radio worldwide via

Along with Cowan and Shilling, the final list of album guest artists includes Sam Bush (Newgrass Revival/Sam Bush Band), Ronnie McCoury (Del McCoury Band/The Travelin McCoury’s), Cia Cherryholmes (The Cherryholmes), Scottish Music Hall of Fame member Phil Cunningham (Phil & Ali), legendary singer/songwriter/producer Wendy Waldman, Scott Vestal (Sam Bush Band), Jeff Autry (John Cowan Band/The Travelin McCoury’s) and Randy Kohrs (Randy Kohrs Band/Jim Lauderdale/Dolly Parton). To learn more about Tiller’s Folly visit or

Artistry Has Its Awards

Now in its 12th year, The Independent Music Awards is a prestigious international program that connects top ranked artists to new audiences and revenue opportunities. The IMAs yearlong promotions, distribution and performance opportunities place winners and nominees in front of millions of Fans, Programmers, Talent Buyers, Film, TV & Gaming Music Supervisors, Media and other gatekeepers.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer