Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Kevin Richardson and Cuttin' Edge Releases Debut CD

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

Kevin Richardson & Cuttin' EdgeWillis, VA -- Known to their fans as KRACE, Kevin Richardson & Cuttin' Edge is a relatively new band on the bluegrass circuit. But don't mistake that "newness" for inexperience. Their front man, Kevin Richardson, may well be one of the most underrated guitarists and vocalists in bluegrass music, due in no small part because he's been quite comfortable taking on a more supportive roll as a sideman to some of the most popular male vocalists in the genre. After a stint helping noted tenor vocalist Lou Reid form his first solo band, Carolina, and then spending the last four years on stage in support of bluegrass legend Larry Stephenson, Richardson has learned more than a thing or two about bluegrass and what it takes to form a successful band in today's world of music. Joined by Boyd Hulin on mandolin and vocals; Scott Burgess on bass and vocals; and Chris Ward on banjo, KRACE is officially making their mark with original songs and a firm foundation built on friendship and great taste in music. The band has already been performing regularly at festivals across the country and just completed taping the popular "Song Of The Mountains" show that airs nationwide on PBS television.

"I've watched Kevin play with Lou Reid and Larry Stephenson and admired his work with them," stated Mark Hodges, president of Mountain Fever Records. "Kevin's wife Crystal is a member of Sweet Potato Pie who has been on our label for many years now. She convinced him to send me a copy of a recording he had done and as soon as I had time to listen, I called him up. Kevin's guitar playing and songwriting are things that people need to hear. He can hold his own with the top names in the business and when he sings a song, you can tell it's coming from his heart. His passion for his music and his love for his family have gotten our respect and we are proud to welcome him and his fine band into our musical family."

The band's self-titled CD, Kevin Richardson & Cuttin' Edge on Mountain Fever Records officially hits streets today and is chock full of bluegrass standards and new music as well. With a nod to their bluegrass roots, KRACE shines on tracks such as Bill Monroe's "On My Way Back To The Old Home" and The Delmore Brothers' "There's More Pretty Girls Than One". But it's the brand new music that really stands out with songs contributed by Richardson such as "Maddie", "He Better Run", "Little Pieces", "Blue Eyed Girl" and the well-received first single from the CD "What Kind Of Love". Band-members Scott Burgess and Chris Ward also brought original offerings to the project with "1114 Express" and "Graham's Tune" respectively. With outstanding lead and vocal harmonies, solid songwriting and the stellar guitar work of Richardson, the new KRACE CD is well on it's way to becoming a favorite among fans and radio programmers alike. "As always, Mountain Fever Records has hit the jackpot again," stated international disc jockey Geoff Morris. "This is a beautiful and very exciting album!"

Mountain Fever Records is proud to announce the official release of Kevin Richardson & Cuttin' Edge to radio and consumers worldwide. Radio programmers may download the new project via AirplayDirect or directly from Mountain Fever Records by emailing For More information on Kevin Richardson & Cuttin' Edge (KRACE), please visit

Track List for Kevin Richardson & Cuttin' Edge:

  • "He Better Run"
  • "Most Of All"
  • "What Kind Of Love"
  • "Little Pieces"
  • "Pearly Gates"
  • "On My Way Back To The Old Home"
  • "Blue Eyed Girl"
  • "Graham's Tune"
  • "Free Born Man"
  • "Maddie"
  • "Steal Away And Pray"
  • "11-14 Express"
  • "More Pretty Girls Than One"
  • Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer