Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Breaking Grass is “Running With The Moon" with Latest Album

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

 Running with the MoonBooneville, MS -- Bluegrass music group Breaking Grass is very proud to announce their brand new sophomore CD, Running With The Moon, is available now. Comprised of Cody Farrar on guitar and vocals; Tyler White on fiddle and vocals; Thelton Vanderford on banjo and vocals; Zach Wooten on mandolin; and Britt Sheffield on bass and vocals; the Mississippi-based band Breaking Grass formed with one goal in mind - to make music that all ages could enjoy. With their fresh sound, original material, strong vocals and innovative musicianship, Breaking Grass is doing exactly what their name implies while still presenting music that is without a doubt steeped in the timeless bluegrass genre they grew up listening to.

While they formed in 2008, it wasn't until 2011 when the band began getting serious about playing music. With several first place wins in bluegrass band contests such as the State of Mississippi Bluegrass Band Championship in New Albany, the Athens Old Time Fiddler’s Bluegrass Band Competition in Alabama and the Uncle Dave Macon Days Bluegrass Band Competition in Murfreesboro, Tennessee, Breaking Grass realized they were on to something wonderful. That same year, they released their self-titled debut album of all original music to a standing room only crowd at a CD release event presented by the City of Booneville, Mississippi. With a sense of excitement and drive from a very fruitful first year together, the band turned to producer Stephen Mougin for help with their next project, Running With The Moon.

Running With The Moon shows the band's extreme versatility with straight ahead bluegrass ("Rambling Girl", “Running With The Moon"), gospel ("Can't Look Down"), western swing ("Oh How I Love You") and even a couple of songs that could easily become honkytonk bar-room standards ("Carry On Carolina", “I'm Not Crying Cause You're Leaving"). But perhaps the stand out tracks on the CD are the hauntingly beautiful “Strings", a tribute waltz to Hank Williams, Sr., and “Witches Of Harlan" with special guest vocalist Jana Mougin of the Slovak Republic band Fragment. The band also shows it's versatility in lead vocalists with Farrar taking lead on ten of the twelve tracks and Sheffield shining on two, “Amongst The Stones" and “Before I Could Lie".

With the title track released as a single earlier this month, Breaking Grass is already receiving rave reviews from radio programmers and industry colleagues alike. “With Breaking Grass, my very first impression was that this band understands variety," states Brian McNeal of Prescription Bluegrass. “From heartfelt emotion to barroom romance to a Texas Two-Step to a genuine good-old-fashioned barn-burner, Breaking Grass lacks nothing in mixing it up. It's refreshing to hear a band that truly is different...different from any other and even different from within."

Gene Skinner of the syndicated Great Stuff Bluegrass radio show states, “When I received Running With The Moon, my thought was to just pop it in the CD player and skim through it but the first song grabbed my attention immediately and I found myself listening to the whole project all the way through. I am very impressed with this band." Jamie Dailey of the award winning duo Dailey & Vincent states, “Everywhere I look now days I see new artists, bands and singers. Though many are good with many levels of talent, I haven't seen or heard any that can compare to the originality that Breaking Grass offers with the good songs they write and the way they sing them. This is certainly going to be a band to watch and I'm sure they will begin climbing the ranks of Bluegrass once fans see and hear this wonderful band."

Track listing for Running With The Moon includes:

  1. "Amongst The Stones"
  2. "Running With The Moon"
  3. "Strings"
  4. "Carry On Carolina"
  5. "Witches Of Harlan"
  6. "Before I Could Lie"
  7. "Oh How I Love You"
  8. "Can't Look Down"
  9. "Still The Roses Bloom"
  10. Love"
  11. "I'm Not Crying Cause You're Leaving"
  12. "Rambling Girl"

Running With The Moon has been shipped to radio programmers worldwide and is also available via AirplayDirect for digital download. For more information on Breaking Grass including tour dates and how to purchase music, visit

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer