Bluegrass Bus Museum


You are here

Memories - New Bluegrass Music from The Spinney Brothers

Printer-friendly versionPrinter-friendly version

The Spinney BrothersWillis, VA -- Mountain Fever Records is proud to release Memories, the latest project from The Spinney Brothers. The new CD has been shipped to radio programmers and retail outlets and is available worldwide today.

From the Annapolis Valley of Nova Scotia, Canada, brothers Allan Spinney on guitar and vocals and Rick Spinney on banjo and vocals debuted their band in 1992, featuring a tight brother duet vocal style that was immediately recognized for its energetic and distinctive sound. Since that time, the band has released 8 CDs independently and are recipients of many Eastern Canadian Bluegrass Awards including 3-time Vocal Group of the Year. In 2010, The Spinney Brothers were inducted into the Nova Scotia Country Music Hall of Fame. Joined by Gary Dalrymple on mandolin and Darryl Hebb on bass, The Spinney Brothers have performed professionally all over Canada and in the United States from California to Maine.

The Spinney Brothers' debut CD for Mountain Fever Records, Memories, produced by Ron Stewart includes music from notable songwriters such as Marshall Warwick ("Memories", "Lying Ruby"), Carl Jackson ("The Train Song", "Makin' A Killin'", "When The Walls Come Tumblin' Down"), David Cooper ("Old Roman Soldier"), and Dave Lindsey ("What A Wonderful Life") as well as original music from Rick Spinney ("One Day Late And A Dollar Short"). In addition to producing, Ron Stewart played fiddle on the project and Rob Ickes played Dobro.

Mark Hodges of Mountain Fever Records stated, "We are very proud to have The Spinney Brothers on our label. They have been performing in front of some very enthusiastic crowds the last few weeks here in the U.S. and we are thrilled to bring their music to their fans and to radio. This band represents the international sector of Bluegrass music and they do it very well."

Memories has been shipped to retailers and radio worldwide and is also available to radio programmers via digital download through AirplayDirect. For more information on The Spinney Brothers, visit or

Track Listing:

  1. Memories
  2. The Train Song
  3. Old Roman Soldier
  4. Makin' A Killin'
  5. Chilly Winds
  6. One Day Late And A Dollar Short
  7. Truck Driver's Queen
  8. Rebels Ye Rest
  9. Sally's Waltz
  10. When The Walls Come Tumblin' Down
  11. Lying Ruby
  12. Cabin On A Mountain
  13. What A Wonderful Life

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer